Being Different

I am often told that I am “different”. This is something that I’ve found hard to deal with over the years. I have long grappled with the true meaning of being different and why others feel the need to remark as such.

Foremost, I question what I am different too. We are all different. We all come from different places and families and different ideas and values. We come in different colours and sizes and all have parts of our bodies that we love and parts that we would change (you should see my freakishly small little toes). I have never met 2 people who are exactly the same and would never want to. I love all the differences in people in the world.

Yet if everyone is unique, why don’t we call them all “different”. This seems to indicate that “different” in this context means something else. Is it different to “us”? But then, who is “us”?

In essence it often seems that the person making the remark feels a likeness to those around them but not to me. Is this unlikeness due to my physical appearance, my choice in clothing or is it more internal? Perhaps it is my outlook on life or my values.

I think what has haunted me for so long about being “different” is the value judgement that is perceived. If someone feels the need to remark that I am different then obviously they feel I am not like them. For many years I took this to mean “not as good as” them. I could never understand why people would say this. I would think, “but we are all different and you haven’t made the same remark about anyone else”.

As I grow older, I embrace being “different”. I still find it odd that people actually feel the need to tell me that I am different. I don’t think I will ever understand that. I have wondered if it is an ignorance on their part or if it is something that makes me stand out from the crowd. I don’t feel “different”. I have always felt this way. It is only recently that I have started to be comfortable in my own skin. To feel happy and proud of the way I feel. Glad that I am “different”.

6 thoughts on “Being Different

    • I have thought that is what they mean…. but the more I think about it, the more I wonder what “common” or “mainstream” actually is… I agree though, it is not a bad thing!

  1. Oh do i relate to this!!
    Not long after I got divorced, my mother and I were sitting around my kitchen island having coffee. She said in all seriousness, “I can’t imagine what kind of man you’ll find now….you’re too different.”
    I guess there was something to her opinion because the above conversation happened in 1999 and I’ve yet to go on a date…yes, you read that right, not even one! In all honesty, I don’t think I’m particularly strange or different. I’m very happy with who I am (no matter how that’s perceived by others) and nothing else really matters!

Leave a Reply

