Why I Love Water Aerobics

I recently took up water aerobics. My friends think it is hilarious. Every time I mention it to a friend I am met with a sceptical look or sideways glance.

Why the scepticism? I guess it is because water aerobics has a reputation of being for grannies. It is the kind of thing that only geriatrics, disabled or injured people do.

Well I am here to tell you that this reputation is simply not deserved.

I will admit, in my day time class I am definitely one of the youngest participants. This at my not so young age of 33 (34 in a week but we don’t need to claim it until we have to).

However, my evening class draws quite a mixed crowd. There are other mums, mothers and daughters and a variety of people of all ages. The male population is somewhat lacking but we do have a few.

So why do I love it so much? It is a great work out that’s why. Last class I jumped for nearly 20 minutes straight. I worked muscles in my body that I didn’t even know I had!

Since starting the classes some time ago my fitness has improved dramatically and I have dropped a dress size. Sure, I do other exercise as well. I go to the gym from time to time and play netball once a week.

I credit water aerobics with most of my weight loss and improved strength. I have never found another group class that provides such an all over workout. We do cardio and muscle-building and unlike a boot camp or normal aerobics class it is all low impact. The water makes it possible for me to do things that I wouldn’t be able to do out of the water.

Before anyone laughs, I’d say give it a go. It might look funny but you will feel great!

LIR Water Aerobics Class

LIR Water Aerobics Class (Photo credit: Old Shoe Woman)

2 thoughts on “Why I Love Water Aerobics

Leave a Reply

