The Morning Race

It’s early morning and the racers are calm and still. Their breath is heavy and short snorts escape their mouths. The anticipation builds.

A little time lapses and they are ready to go. The noise builds and the racers start to get jumpy as they brace for the event.

A shot of adrenalin rushes over the spectators as they ready themselves for the race. Although they are experienced race goers, they know this could go anyway.

And their off. I Need Breakfast has jumped well and taken a strong lead. I Don’t Want to Go is following close behind. I Don’t Want to Go is a favourite in this race with a lot of experience on this track.

I Need Breakfast is pushing in front. I Need Breakfast and I Don’t Want to Go still looking strong. The crowd pleaser We Will Make It has been pushed to the back of the pack.

I Don’t Want to Go is losing ground as I’ve Lost My Shoe bears in. As they come around the first bend it is I Need Breakfast, I’ve Lost My Shoe and Where’s My Bag at the front.

Where’s My Bag has moved up from 7th to the third spot. I Don’t Want to Go now in sixth. We Will Make It still at the back in eighth place.

I Can’t Find My Show and Tell is coming up the outside and moves from seventh to fifth. I Can’t Find My Show and Tell looking strong.

And here come I’m Not Wearing That and That’s Not My Shirt. They have I Need Breakfast boxed in. I Need Breakfast is losing ground as they come up the back straight.

I Can’t Find My Show and Tell bears in on the last corner and comes round in third. It’s Where’s My Bag still in the lead, followed by I’ve Lost My Shoe and I Can’t Find My Show and Tell.

And here comes the crowd pleaser We Will Make It on the outside. We Will Make It going all out. We Will Make It passes I Need Breakfast and Im Not Wearing That. And it looks like We Will Make It is going to come from last place to finish at the front. Yes, it is We Will Make It by a nose.

The spectators breathe a sigh of relief as We Will Make It saves the day.

Yes, morning in my house is like a horse race. I never know if we will get the boys out the door on time or not.

This is my attempt at the Daily Word Prompt. See http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2012/10/30/daily-prompt-5/ for details. I googled the word racing as my boys were playing motorbike races at the time. The image I got was from this website, http://www.tvn.com.au/project/racing-network/.

5 thoughts on “The Morning Race

  1. Pingback: Be my Neighbor? | a Commonplace STUDIO

  2. Pingback: Image Search: Despair | 365 Days of Thank You

  3. Pingback: Starting to be Great | Keyboard Pizza

Leave a Reply

