The Enigma of the Beach

I love the beach. It doesn’t matter what the weather, the beach never fails to fill me with wonder.

As I walk across the sand, I think of those who may have walked here before me. I wonder where they were going. I imagine their lives and the thoughts they had as they walked across the sand.

When I see single footprints I wonder who they belong to. Why were they walking alone? Were they pondering life in the same way that I do? Would we get along if we had the chance to meet? Are they like me?

When I look out to the ocean I am mesmerised by the enigma. What is the world beneath the waves like?

Although I know they are not real, I imagine mermaids swimming through reefs. I imagine halos of sun streaming through the water and engulfing their world.

I wonder about those who have crossed the waters. And I think of those who didn’t make it.

When I see the wreckage of vessels that never reached their destinations, I wonder what it was like for those onboard. I picture myself on those majestic ocean liners of yesteryear. I imagine that the ship had all the luxuries of the Titanic.

As I look out across the water, I dream of where I would end up if I travelled across its expanse.  I imagine finding myself in exotic places, surround by riches and treasures. I picture myself immersed in a cultural wonderland.

I also find myself reflecting on times of old. I look at piers and old beach structures and imagine what the world was like when they were erected. There is a sense of romanticism and beauty in my interpretations of years passed.

But it is not just other worlds that the beach makes me think of. Whenever I walk on the beach, I find myself getting lost in my own world. The serenity and beauty of the water causes me to lose myself in reflection. I think of my life as it is. I recount my dreams. I long for the dreams that have not yet been reached. I smile at those that have.

I don’t know why it is, but for me the beach is a myriad enigmas. It makes me dream of other worlds and reflect deeply into my own.

14 thoughts on “The Enigma of the Beach

  1. Pingback: Travel Theme: Beaches | a hectic life

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitary | a hectic life

  3. Thank you for adding my beach post to your “related” list, I appreciate it. Your post is beautifully dreamy and I really like the last picture, what a place to spend time.

  4. Pingback: Beach Walks « Chronicles of a Homosexual Hobbit

    • We are at least a 1 hour drive away but are fortunate that my mother lives near the beach. We try to visit as often as we can and we also do at least 1 beach holiday a year where we spend a week near a beach somewhere.

Leave a Reply

