Advice for My Pre-Child Self

Being a mother is very rewarding. Watching your children grow and explore the world brings a wonderful sense of pleasure. It is unlike anything else I have ever experienced.

But being a mother is also hard work! Much harder than I ever could have imagined. I found myself getting lost in a cloud.

I don’t think anyone can really understand what it is like to be a new mother until they experience it for themselves. However, if I could turn back the clock, there are plenty of things I would tell myself.

Be patient. It will get better. With time, it gets easier.

Trust yourself. You may not be an expert but your instincts are correct. You do know your baby better than anyone else. Believe in what you are doing. It is right for you and right for your baby.

You will sleep again. There will be nights when you feel that you are never going to sleep again. When the frustration and exhaustion feel endless and you wonder how you will go on. These nights will pass.

 Accept help when it is offered. It is ok to seek help. No one is expected to do everything by themself.

Take a break. You are allowed to have time off. It is not a crime and you are not being a bad mother if you take some time for yourself.

You are not alone. There are lots of people that care and will help you. You just need to reach out to them.

Smile. There are plenty of things to smile about. It doesn’t all have to be hard work. Take time to enjoy the little moments.

 When I look back at this time of my life, I remember how hard it was. I have no regrets, but I know that I could have benefited from this advice.

Leave a Reply

