These are a few of my favourite things…

I was recently watching a commercial for The Sound of Music. immediately, the song My Favourite Things got stuck in my head and I have been singing it for sometime since.

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens
Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens
Brown paper packages tied up with string
These are a few of my favourite things.

Singing away this morning, washing the dishes from the night before, I started to think about my favourite things. The song made me think how it really is the little pleasures in life that make you happy. So these are a few of my favourite things.

Jumping in puddles after a sun shower. I love the sound of the splash and the squelch of my feet in the puddles. When the sun is out and the rain a distant memory, puddles are so alluring.

Watching my children play together. I love it when they laugh together. They are angelic when they are giggling and squealing at the simple pleasure of each other. They chase each other round the trampoline. They play Row Your Boat, in my washing baskets. Some days, they are smiling simply from rolling around on the floor together.

Autumn leaves. The colours are spectacular. I love the richness and beauty they bring to the garden. I love how the colours spill onto the ground and my paths become golden and red. I love the crunching sound they make when you walk through them. I have so much fun walking through piles of leaves and kicking them into the air to watch the colours float around me.

Relaxing in the bath with a good book and a glass of wine. In absolute peace and quiet. I love sitting in the warm water, bubbles tickling my nose and the sweet smell of oils or bath salts filling the room. All the while indulging in a nice red and getting lost in a great book. Of course, these days I don’t get to enjoy this as often. I tend to find I have company pretty quickly as two little boys jump in the bath with me. It makes it even more special when I do get a chance to relax on my own.

Dancing when no one is watching. I love the feeling of turning the music up loud and letting loose. When no one is watching you feel so free. Like it is only you and the song in the world.

Colourful flowers. In any shape or size. Even weeds. I just love the colours and the delicate shapes. The beauty of a little flower alone among a sea of green grass or leaves brightens your day.

Raindrops sparkling on spider webs. Or morning dew. The moisture makes the webs shimmer in silvery patterns.

Bright coloured paints, pencils and paper. Sometimes I just love to open my scrapbook tubs and stare at all the beautiful colours. They are so vibrant and always bring a smile to my face.

The smell of fresh coffee in the morning. The powerful aroma that awakens the senses. It is one of my favourite smells in the world.

Christmas lights. I love the way Christmas lights sparkle. I even love them blinking at me from my Christmas tree. There is something so magical about Christmas and the glittering lights seem to encapsulate it. My mother tells me that when I was a baby I used to play “peek a boo” with the lights ont he Christmas tree.

I am sure there are probably more things I love. I really belive that it is some of these little things that make life so special.

6 thoughts on “These are a few of my favourite things…

  1. Wow.
    The more I read of your post, the more I enjoyed it. I can identify with every one of your favourite things. Coloured pencils! There is nothing better than a box of rainbow coloured paints or crayons. And the sparkles of a Christmas tree -exquisite!

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Happy | a hectic life

  3. Pingback: “Bright copper kettles and warm woollen mittens”… « Hocus Pocus

Leave a Reply

