Branching Out with Other Parents

This week’s writing challenge was a little different. Instead of preparing a written piece, we were to venture into the unknown and write comments on 5 blogs not visited before.

I loved this challenge. I decided to focus on parenting blogs. It is the thing that consumes most of time. So I hit the reader and checked out some new posts under the parenting category.

I felt a little odd leaving long messages on blogs I wasn’t familiar with. Sharing your own stories on blogs when you don’t have an existing relationship almost feels like breaking etiquette. Is it ok to leave detailed messages and share your stories on the first meeting? It is the spirit of the challenge but it still feels a little awkward. Surely we wait until the second or third date¬†before revealing so much.

But it was fun to read some new blogs and I was pleasantly surprised with what I found. I certainly could relate to these posts. You can see them here.

http://raisedbywolffs.wordpress.com/2012/11/20/tired-tuesday/#comment-1289

http://positivelysarcastic.wordpress.com/2012/11/20/wasting-my-breath-in-walmart/#comment-126

http://brianasmommy.wordpress.com/2012/11/19/day-1-status-we-survived/comment-page-1/#comment-12

http://nowyoutellmemommy.wordpress.com/2012/11/19/advice-to-listen-or-not-to-listen/comment-page-1/#comment-6

http://milkandhoney2009.wordpress.com/2012/11/19/listen-son/#comment-326

I think I will continue to branch out and read more posts. Breaking out of routine has been a big theme on my blog of late. I might start a little slower in future though. A few “likes” here and there. Maybe a “follow”. If they start to show interest in my blog, maybe that will lead to a comment. Afterall, a good relationship takes time.

To find out more about the writing challenge, see http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2012/11/19/weekly-writing-challenge-break-the-ice/.

6 thoughts on “Branching Out with Other Parents

  1. I wandered over here to check out your blog after you left a comment on mine, and I just wanted to let you know that I am liking what I have read so far. And I love that you checked out my blog as part of a writing challenge. :) Thanks again for commenting on my blog – it was good to know someone was actually reading what I wrote.

    • Thanks! It is nice to meet new bloggers that I can relate to. I could really relate to your post. It brought back so many memories. I look forward to sharing your journey and I really hope you get some sleep soon!

    • Thank you. I loved your post and look forward to following your blog. It is nice to start with a conversation but I’m shy. You can tell that it took me a long time to pluck up the courage to ring a boy back in my school days!

Leave a Reply

